THE SEVENTH DAY

What follows is a re-imagination of the Story of Adam and Eve in photographic chiaroscuro with verses taken (and modified) from the New International Version of the Holy Bible. In composing this photo-essay, I did not intend to offend anyone, and if anyone has been offended, I offer them my sincerest apologies.

 

 

 

01

???????????????????????????????

 

 

 

 

Then the Lord formed a man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life.

 

 

 

 

 

This is the bone of my bones and the flesh of my flesh.

 

 

 

 

 

 

She shall be called woman, for she was taken out of man.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Be fruitful and increase in number, fill the earth and subdue it. Rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky and over every living creature that moves on the ground.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Did God really say, ‘You must not eat from any tree in the garden’?

 

 

 

 

 

 

For God knows that when I eat from it my eyes will be opened, and I will be God, knowing good and evil.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The fruit of the tree was good for food and pleasing to the eye, and also desirable for gaining wisdom.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then the eyes of both of them were opened.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I heard You in the garden, and I was afraid, so I hid.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I will make your pains in childbearing very severe; with painful labor you will give birth to children.Your desire will be for your husband, and he will rule over you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cursed is the ground because of you; through painful toil you will eat food from it all the days of your life, until you return to the ground, since from it you were taken; for dust you are, and to dust you will return.

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you for going through this post. If you have anything you’d like to say, please leave a comment. I welcome criticism, constructive or otherwise. 

